.SEVEN.

Seven years. Seven fleeting, beautiful years. These have been, hands down, the most amazing, the most challenging and the most rewarding years of my life. I was never quite sure I wanted to be a mama. I KNEW I didn’t want to be pregnant. And then I was. I’ve always been amazed at how much I fell in love with being pregnant. I embraced the entire experience, all the way through childbirth. On December 7th, 2005, I dove into parenthood with a fierce determination and a confidence that I never knew existed in me. Everything I have ever wanted for myself but was too afraid to fight for, I spend every ounce of my energy making sure that he has it all. He deserves it. He deserves more. He has taught me more in seven years than I’ve learned in an entire lifetime. It’s cliche, I know. But it’s true.

My son WILL walk confidently through this life and know that he is loved, unconditionally, for exactly who he is and who HE needs to be in this life. Day and night, we are. Oil and water. He’s pink. I’m green. I’m dirty play clothes. He’s bow ties and fedoras. Every way that I naively thought we’d connect, we don’t. Oh, but do we connect. Where I never expected…we connect. I couldn’t imagine trying to guide (and be guided by) any other little being through this life than my Noah Sage.

I can only hope that the next seven years and more will provide me with as much growth and beauty as I’ve been gifted since his birth. So now I must say…I wish for the happiest of birthdays to you, my dear Noah. I love every little bit of you and I look forward to the many years we have ahead of us together. Keep on shining, my sweet boy, keep on shining.

untitled-11-Edit

This entry was published on 19 December 2012 at 6:35 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “.SEVEN.

  1. andykarol on said:

    Happy birthday, Noah!! 🙂

  2. Wow! My beautiful boy was also born on Pearl Harbor Day – 13 years ago! He’s all sports and electronics and Legos and rap music and swagger. He too will walk confidently through this life. We will connect and we will mis-connect. He will love and be loved. And he will always be free to be him and to create his own story – what every human being must be free to do. Lucky Noah to have a mom who gets this (even when it ain’t easy!) Happy 7th birthday, Noah, from a big fan!

  3. scutaloo on said:

    Happy belated birthday to The Sparkly Boy!

  4. Happy Birthday to that gorgeous boy!

  5. Happy birthday Noah, indeed.

    I hope life is treating you well. I’m finding myself missing your company. Either way, enjoy.

    EtF

Leave a Reply

