Love In Abundance

Well hello! We ARE still alive, if not trying our best to navigate through an incredibly busy fall. It only just occurred to me that it has been about SIX weeks since I’ve written anything here and to the hundreds of you who come to this blog each and every day, I apologize.

To summarize our beautifully abundant fall: Noah and I have moved. I’m going through a divorce from the man with whom we have shared the last 4 1/2 years of our lives. It’s a wonderful, beautiful change in all of our lives and I think that I’m fairly accurate in saying that everyone is much happier for the change.

Noah has been incredibly busy with school (which is amazing!), violin/orchestra and ballet. My work has been incredibly busy, and for that I am thankful. I’m really enjoying some new and exciting projects that have only just come about. We have embraced the love and support of family and friends, and I (we) revel in their presence in our lives. I feel like we are reconnecting with so many, in so many different ways. It’s beautiful, really. Quite often, I find myself near tears thinking of all those who love us…and whom we equally love back.

We have lived our lives fully this fall. In the midst of trying to keep things from spinning out of control, in the midst of trying NOT to over schedule (there’s a fine line between keeping food on the table and keeping one’s sanity)…we are experiencing every single day to its fullest. I think that, perhaps, the images I’m posting today will portray Noah’s fall rather nicely. πŸ™‚

So many, many changes have come in our lives this year. We’ve embraced them all, but the one change that has occurred that is most important to my heart and Noah’s, the one that I’m LONG overdue posting about…is having my entire family back in our lives. I posted in the spring about my fear and hesitation in attending my brother’s wedding. We had not seen my family in two years, because of who Noah chooses to be and the fact that I fully support him. It turns out, I had nothing to fear and everything to embrace. There were many hugs and tears exchanged that day, and a reunion made sweet by the decision of unconditional love.

Since that day, Noah and I have been spending a lot of time with my family and, OH! am I ever so happy to have them back in our lives. To know that Noah has his Mamaw and Papaw back again, and in a way that is mutually adoring and respectful for all of them. They embrace him now. They see that Noah is a beautiful soul, just as he is, and they’d rather have him in their lives that way than not at all.

This past weekend provides a perfect example of that new found unconditional love. Noah spent the weekend with them, as I was on assignment all weekend. Since I forgot to leave the booster seat, they bought one to keep at their house. They let him pick it out and since there wasn’t pink, he chose purple. They purchased it, no questions asked. Shopping for clothes? Mamaw let him shop and choose from both the “boys” and “girls” sections. He’s equally as excited about his blue warm up suit as he is his purple and pink running shirt with thumb holes! They stock their fridge with plenty of vegan snacks and goodies for him. And best of all, Noah got to do what I enjoyed most as a child: curl up on his Papaw’s lap, in the recliner, and watch movies. He provided plenty of snuggles and cuddles to them all weekend. (Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to put emphasis on the material things here, just the acceptance factor!)

So to wrap this up for the day (WHEW! SO long winded!), I’m tremendously grateful for the many, many changes that are taking place in our lives right now, but the one that I’m most grateful for is having my family back. And for Noah to know that he is loved and fully embraced…for who he is and nothing less. And that’s a lot to give thanks for!

 

This entry was published on 14 November 2012 at 5:49 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Love In Abundance

  1. andykarol on said:

    Beautiful post! Thank you for the update! It kinda made me teary… πŸ™‚

  2. kathye950 on said:

    There in nothing more important than a loving family relationship and support. Very happy for you both.

  3. Wonderful, touching post, thank you!

  4. girlforgetful on said:

    I just can’t imagine anyone not adoring that sweet-faced child. Glad to hear things are looking up for you both in the realm of family relations.

Leave a Reply

