The New Punky Brewster

I think it’s critically important for many people to realize and understand something: This is NOAH. It’s not mama wishing she had a girl. It’s not mama trying to use her child as a scapegoat to go against the “societal grain”. Mama isn’t trying to “instigate” arguments with others who do not agree with how she “dresses her child”. No, this is Noah.

I asked Noah to tell me what he wanted people to know about these images and this is what he said:

“I LOVE pink! I love my moo cow…I’ve had him since I was a baby. I think they should know how much I love pink, and I love sparkles and skirts. I love twirling, too…it’s my favorite part of dancing. Oooh…and this is my FAVORITE pink outfit, with my pink sparkly and black skirt and my skulls! I LOVE skulls!”

“I think that people should also know how much I love Legos and love to build them. I love concentrating on them and following the instructions to build them and then play with them! I get SO excited about it I just can’t help it!”

“I think that everyone really needs to know how much I love my long hair. And my sparkly shoes. And I love pink. I don’t want to cut my hair, either.”

And as a final note, this is out of the mouth of the babe: “Parents should let their kids be who they want to be. It makes me feel sad when people don’t want me to have long hair or wear pink. It makes me feel sad for other kids who want to have their own favorite color and things to do but people won’t let them. There is no such thing as boy stuff and girl stuff…I should get to do what makes me happy.”

And there you have it folks. It’s not about you. It’s not about me. It’s about children being given the opportunity to be happy, emotionally healthy individuals who are given the freedom to walk their own paths.

This entry was published on 5 March 2012 at 3:31 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “The New Punky Brewster

  1. There’s a lot of twirling in my house as well.

  2. Amazing! Noah really is a Sage, isn’t he 🙂 That kid is going to change the world!
    (I can’t wait to hang out with you guys tomorrow!)

  3. Brooke: Twirling rocks!
    Jessica: The funny thing is he’s always seemed like an old soul to me…even as a baby. The child really is wise beyond his years. (And I can’t wait to hang, too!)

  4. Please check out my website: http://www.handsomeinpink.com. I have a sneaking suspicion that Noah will find an item of clothing he would like to add to his wardrobe. Perhaps a pink rocket ship dress? Pink dirt bike shirt? Purple electric guitar tee? Noah gets one on the house so please let us know if he has a fave. We are two moms out of Oakland, CA who started this business with the intention of breaking down gender stereotyping and simultaneously empowering kids to wear what they like and be who they are! 🙂

    • I JUST found your site the other day…LOVE it! 🙂 And how sweet you are to offer Noah a shirt, he’s THRILLED! I’ll be sure to take plenty of photographs of him in it and share them! 🙂

  5. I think this is one of my favorite entries so far (I’m reading them all tonight in backwards order). It is wonderful to hear from Noah about what he thinks, and it gives me hope that more and more children are being allowed to express themselves as they wish. (Though sadly, this is not universal yet). It’s sad to think about how many people had to repress themselves as children because of their parents reactions and wider societal ideas. Also, I love the pink and skulls combination!

  6. your child has a very wise soul… and you are a wonderful mom for letting him be who he is, I wish every parent was so astute…
    I learned about your blog last night at a crafting party (I was mostly socializing since I am one of the least crafty people on the planet) from a friend of my friends… 🙂

    • Thank you, Larisa. 🙂 It’s funny, I just responded to another comment about Noah being an old soul. He truly is and I’ve seen it since he was an infant. I wish that I could have held my head so high in confidence at his age. 🙂

Leave a Reply

